South Africa struck back with a vengeance on the second day to claim a 62-run first-innings lead in the third and final Test against Australia at the WACA Ground on Saturday.


Defending just 225 after winning the toss and electing to bat on the opening day, the Proteas routed the home side for 163.

At tea, the Proteas were 24 without loss in their second innings of a frenetic Test match, with Alviro Petersen on 21 and Graeme Smith on two, an overall lead of 86.

The home side resumed at 33 for two and collapsed dramatically in the opening 30 minutes of play as pace bowler Dale Steyn (4-40) rediscovered his best form in a stunning spell.

In his first over of the day, Steyn removed careless opener David Warner, caught behind for 13 when he slashed at a wide delivery, despite the Australian asking for the decision to be reviewed.

Steyn then removed night watchman Nathan Lyon three balls later for seven, caught at gully by Faf du Plessis.

Champion batsman Ricky Ponting strode to the crease to huge applause in his final Test, but lasted just over 10 minutes before being trapped lbw by Vernon Philander (2-55) for four, another Australian decision review failing.

Australian skipper Michael Clarke's golden run of form came to an end when he became Steyn's fourth victim, caught behind for just five from a searing delivery.

The home team were 45 for six, having lost four wickets for just 11 runs.

It would have been 45 for seven had Hashim Amla's throw at the stumps from mid-off, with Wade well out of his crease and having given up the cause, been a direct hit.

Wade made it a costly miss as he top-scored with a counter-attacking 68 that included three sixes.

Spinner Robin Peterson cleaned up the tail to end up with three for 44, John Hastings the last man to fall for 32 when Petersen caught the ball, threw it up in the air as he stepped back over the boundary rope, and then stepped back into play to complete the catch.

More stills

Keywords: South Africa , WACA Ground , Alviro Petersen , Graeme Smith , pace bowler Dale Steyn, opener David Warner, Nathan Lyon ,Champion batsman Ricky Ponting , Vernon Philander ,Australian skipper Michael Clarke, Hashim Amla,Spinner Robin Peterson,John Hastings,