The Reserve Bank will shortly issue Rs 10 denomination banknotes with rupee symbol bearing the signature of new governor Raghuram G Rajan.

"...will shortly issue Rs 10 denomination banknotes incorporating rupee symbol on the obverse and reverse, without inset letter in both the numbering panels, in the Mahatma Gandhi Series-2005 bearing the signature of Raghuram G Rajan, governor, RBI," it said in a notification.

RBI said the year of printing '2013' will be printed on the reverse of the banknote.

The design of these notes to be issued now is similar in all respects to the Rs 10 banknotes in Mahatma Gandhi Series- 2005 issued earlier, it added further.

All the banknotes in the denomination of Rs 10 issued by the Bank in the past will continue to be legal tender, said the central bank.

Keywords: Reserve Bank, banknotes ,rupee symbol , signature,new governor, Raghuram G Rajan,Mahatma Gandhi S,RBI, banknote,e central bank