Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Can I install XP professional over existing XP Home?

Default Can I install XP professional over existing XP Home?

Hi all:

I have a question.
    I have a compaq presario laptop which currently has Windows XP Home Edition. Now, I would like to install Windows XP Professional latest FULL version in it. Can i install like that? Will that affect the functionality of some of the programs? If YES, can anyone suggest me some of the issues that I need to be watching while installing?

Any other suggestion regarding this issue is appreciated.

Thanks y'll.

Andy

yes it will install over xp home. make sure to choose repair installation and then it will install and leave your dll's and critical system files intact. :lol:

First of all I am a novice when it comes to OS and system installations, etc. So, excuse me if I'm asking stupid questions. At what point during instalation I have to watch out for "chose repair installation"? I mean, will there be any window asking to pick the repair option?

My situation is: my office computer came with professional (with softwares like AutoCAD, ArcGIS, etc...) and many times I felt the need to use my laptop for my office work. So, just thought that using the "frequently-used-work-related-softwares" installed on similar OS (professional) might be a good idea. I may be wrong here, but please suggest on this and if possible a step-by-step process of installation.

Thank you once again.

yep easily done...but the best thing to do is to reformat

Quote Originally Posted by morningstar.bizhat.com
    you can't just readily reformat a notebook hardrive, since most companie do not give you all the critical software that comes with the computer, or setup files for the hardware. Also by reformating the hardrive you also void the warrenty for your laptop.