Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Stupid Newb Questions

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    America
    Posts
    45

    Default Stupid Newb Questions

    While our sites are currently down - (no rush admins!) - I figured I'd like to clear up some confusion I have that I can't find elsewhere.

    First, when uploading files to your site/server, are you applying useage towards your monthly banwidth limit?

    And second, when someone uses an online picture reference for his or her avatar, does that "linkage" also count towards your monthly limit?

    Thanks and sorry to be so naive.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    996

    Default

    No, FTP Uploading does not Go to your webviewing Bandwith But you do Use your File Transfer Bandwith, You have 5 Gigs of that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    17

    Default

    so if i wanted to put a 5 mb video on there and it got 10 downloads would that be 50mb of bandwith or am i just understanding it wrong?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    996

    Default

    Thats correct 50 MB and that would take up your whole File space, and your bandwith would still have 4950 MEgs left to upload and delete files.

    You get aloted 50 Megs of File Space. Your bandwith is 10X as much. So guys don't feel that you will lose all your bandwith. Use your website and Bandwith Respectfully and Properly you will be fine.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2004
    Location
    Australia
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Bandwidth here is unreal. The amount we get is excellent.
    And all for a couple of posts too...... :)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Ok, upload and linking counts towards your bandwidth. It doesn't count now because cp is messed up and they'll probably fix it, but it will count. Every host I have had paid/free all have counted uploads in bandwidth usage. Linking is bandwidth usage on every single host.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Will our bandwith used be reset when the server comes back online? And i think it would be better if we had 100megs space to start off with

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    USA
    Posts
    996

    Default

    Bkclan your an expensive person :P You know space cost's money.
    I don't know if your Bandwith will restart, wishful thinking though :D Wait until the 1st of Feburary to get new bandwith :D More megs more money the admin and the Service Creators have to pay.

    50 Megs is alot of Space, Keep posting and you will get more Megs and space + Bandwith and extra Features by the ammount of posts you have.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    117

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bkclan
    Will our bandwith used be reset when the server comes back online? And i think it would be better if we had 100megs space to start off with
    100 MB is too much nobody would post on the forums then.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    America
    Posts
    45

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Apak
    Quote Originally Posted by bkclan
    Will our bandwith used be reset when the server comes back online? And i think it would be better if we had 100megs space to start off with
    100 MB is too much nobody would post on the forums then.
    Agreed. 100 megs means people would come back when their site has reached it's limit and needs and upgrade. Although, in all fairness, if we had alot to begin with and had php enabled from the get-go, (I'm not suggesting that either), you wouldn't have the same posts over and over again about the same questions. I don't mean to sound harsh, but there is alot of "junk" on these boards because people are too greedy and want more bandwidth.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •